top of page
  • Writer's pictureMipa

The Mini Mipa in the Making

Updated: Mar 7, 2022

A.k.a. the exciting new chapter that is expanding our family


Amount of brains in my body: 2

Amount of hearts in my body: 2

Heartbeat of heart number 1: 67 bpm

Heartbeart of heart number 2: 145 bpm

Amount of snacks consumed this arvo: 3 - pistachios, cranberries, passionfruit yoghurt, and a can of chickpeas

Amount of bras and underwear that no longer fit: all of them but 1

Amount of times cried about seeing a puppy on TV: 1 (damn you hormones)

Countdown until I can enjoy champagne or wine again: +- 113 days

Amount of hours since I last saw Man: 159

Amount of days until I will see Man again: 23

Level of dissatisfaction with long-distance: 200%

Amount of nightmares about our wedding: 3



Exciting, weird and challenging times! I am carrying a Mini Mipa (24 weeks in already) and Man and I are super excited about the expansion of our family. Even though we are 6 months in, sometimes we still have these ''Holy Sh***'' moments of sudden realisation! It is unreal to think there is an entire formed human in my belly, though (s)he does like to remind me by doing acrobatics all day long. Man said the other day: ''how crazy is life? Six years ago I wrote a silly joke in a Tinder bio, and here we are - pregnant and engaged. Wow!''.


Man still lives in Newcastle, we are over halfway through this separation period (4 months to go) and also over being apart. So over it. We are counting down the days until he finishes this course and comes back to enjoy our new family. He has got an entire two months off and we CANNOT WAIT! I am so grateful for - and amazed by - Man turning down several exercises and overseas trips, to take paternity leave and stay home with us. We have both invested so much over the past four years in terms of time, energy and hard and long periods of separation. Now it is time for us. It will initially be a hectic 2 months though, with a wedding, moving interstate and having my family with us for 8 weeks (free babysitting, dog walking and meal services, woohoo! And great company of course - not necessarily in that order). It will be absolutely wonderful, but hectic. Lucky for us there will be some weeks of quiet and relaxation in there as well, much needed.


Meanwhile, I am finishing up the wedding planning, as it is the last thing I want to be doing in my third trimester. Even though everything is so well organised, I have a recurring nightmare.... The scenarios are different but the plot is ever the same: it suddenly is our wedding day, I am on location, and everything is going wrong! Sometimes it is the vendors not showing up, sometimes it's the groom's party missing, sometimes I forgot my dress, sometimes all of the above. How funny!


Well, that's me for today. Just a quickie as I have some more wedding planning to do ;)

Stay tuned for wedding & baby updates!





22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page