top of page
  • Writer's pictureMipa

The Light and the Dark - part II

Updated: Dec 3, 2021

Happy Thursday dear readers!

I am missing my wonderful Man as his deployment got extended until... well.... a loooooong time away. But there is heaps of awesome stuff going on too, so here is a super quick post to entertain you whilst you are sitting on the toilet or brushing your teeth.


In my last post, the Light & the Dark part 1, I reflected mostly on the ''bigger picture covid-effects''. Whilst driving to Bunnings the other day (because I am basically a tradie now *flexes biceps *) I reflected a bit more on what living in a pandemic has brought me:


Habits I've stopped: my two-decade-long habits of nail-biting and nose-picking. Nothing like the threat of some deadly germs to get those fingers out of places they don't belong. Also obsessive long-term planning has disappeared as it is rather pointless now. Carpe diem!


Habits I've picked (back) up: reading, journaling and bushwalking. I've explored more new areas and trails in the last month than in my 1.5 years in Queensland combined.


Skills I've picked up: using tools and even power tools (I feel mighty sexy and self-sufficient when working a heavy duty drill), identifying Philip heads and doing all kinds of wedding craft.


Life changes I made: getting off daily coffees and going vegan! Cruelty-free and mostly whole-foods. And I don't even have cheese-withdrawals!


Cool things I have done: given the house a makeover, getting family and loved ones on 3 continents together in a Skype call, building a table, trying all non-dairy flavours of Ben & Jerry's (cookie dough is a winner), exhausting my entire Netflix 'saved-to-watch' list, spending 40 hours on researching animal well-fare and the health of the planet (educated AF right now), climbing a small mountain with a weight vest (it was 2KM only but still... a steep 2 k's!), donating 10 pints of plasma, spring-cleaning my closet in winter, spending a small fortune on online shopping (totally justified in these crazy times, of course) and teaching a bunch of awesome online classes.

I do love working from home: the commute is so short, there are never any traffic jams, nobody notices when I forget to put on deodorant and I have such little laundry (combining my daily work shirts with same pyjama bottoms). * Disclaimer: I do acknowledge the financial, physical and mental hardships a lot of people worldwide go through as a result of the pandemic. It just the simple truth that on a personal level, it has brought me loads of good! I offer compassion and light to all those who are having a difficult time.*




24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page